High Protein Choco-Chip Waffle!(No protein powder!)

WAFFLE

waffle bite
Hey everyone! Sorry I have been gone for so long. Christmas holidays as you know 🙂 I have to admit I ate pretty bad..I still stuck to a healthy breakfast and lunch but splurged a bit on those delicious turkey dinners. My Mom makes some awesome Christmas cookies! Anyways, after all this terrible eating I had to come home and get back to my healthy eating immediately! That’s why I started today with this super tasty waffle! Yup you heard me right. Waffles for breakfast. And yes, they are in fact guilt-free.

So how might you ask are these crazy-delicious looking things at all healthy? Well they just happen to be made with a few simple ingredients.

-2 egg whites + 1 more (or 2 egg whites + 1 whole egg)
-2 tbsp coconut flour
-pinch of salt(scant)

-1/8 tsp vanilla extract
-2 tbsp almond milk
-1/2 tsp baking powder
-1/2-1 tbsp carob chips

-1/2 tsp splenda or other sweetener to taste

Toppings(You can go crazy with these but I like..):
-sugar-free syrup
-1/4 of a large banana sliced
-extra 1/2 tbsp carob chips melted

Directions: Pre-heat a waffle maker to the middle heat setting(or whatever you find works best). In a medium bowl whip 2 egg whites to stiff peaks(I advise using a mixer or your arm may die, yes it is a good workout but believe me it’s not worth it, I tried haha). Once stiff, stir in your extra egg white, coconut flour, salt, vanilla, almond milk, baking powder and then carob chips.
Use a spatula to pour & spread batter into a hot waffle maker(If it is not non-stick, spray with pam first!). Close and let cook until crispy. (I just got an awesome cuisine art waffle-maker for christmas and it actually tells you when the waffle is finished!). Afterwards plate and top with chopped banana, additional carob chips and sugar-free syrup. Enjoy!! 🙂
Makes one large waffle.

Nutrition Facts(not including additional toppings): 24g carbs, 6g fat, 20g protein

What did you do to celebrate the holidays this year?

4 thoughts on “High Protein Choco-Chip Waffle!(No protein powder!)

    • Haha yes! It is in fact possible, although it is artificial. Usually you can find it next to regular syrup. And it is sweetened with “sucralose”. If you want to go the natural route, stick with pure maple syrup! Or you could top your waffle with sugar-free jam(basically natural fruit jam without added sugar) & natural peanut butter. yum!

      • The maple syrup and jam options would work for me. I don’t do artificial sweeteners though. I’ve been experimenting some with stevia, a natural sweetener, with some success. With your wonderful waffle I think I’d go the jam route 🙂

  1. Sounds awesome! If you like sugar-free jams I highly recommend ordering from this website: http://honeyworld.weebly.com/jams-jellies-sugar-free–maple-syrup.html

    They make sugar-free jams as well as sweetened jams and coconut butters, peanut butter, almond butter..etc. Everything is amazing. (They had a tasting booth set-up where I live at a Christmas craft show and I tried almost everything..lol, I highly recommend Coconut-Pecan Butter or the jam I ended up buying and love, sugar-free strawberry ruhbarb jam!). Glad you like the recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

