Traditional Breakfast Paleo Style (gluten-free, grain-free)

Paleo Savoury Waffle and Egg BreakfastHey everyone! Sorry I haven’t posted in a while..I have been making some big changes in the way I eat! & Yes you read right, this recipe is paleo! I am going Paleo! 🙂 I finally  chose to jump on the band wagon after much debating. I never thought I could eat Paleo because of my intense love for everything bread related as well as my beloved oatmeal & rice. But I figured you know what? It’s a challenge! & I love a good challenge, plus you can create some pretty delicious food on Paleo. Although I am calling myself Paleo, many pure Paleo’s may not consider me 100% because I have continued to include small amounts of cottage cheese & goat cheese in my diet as well as peanuts/peanut butter along with a few additional ingredients(small amounts of sugar-free syrup, stevia sweetener etc.). But this works for me and I think you should never follow a diet outline exactly the way it’s layed out, change it if you don’t like something! Just follow the basics :). Anyways let’s get to this awesome recipe!

So although I am Paleo now, there is now way I am giving up waffles..especially after getting a brand new waffle maker..So that’s why I figured out a delicious alternative. A savoury waffle topped with a sunny-side up egg and a side of ham bacon with a drizzle of sugar-free syrup..YUM. This is a total comfort food breakfast that will keep you filled!

Ingredients:

Waffle:

-2 egg whites(or 1/4 cup)

-1/2 tbsp coconut oil(could sub with another oil but I find coconut oil gives a unique flavour!)

-1/8 tsp baking soda

-salt & pepper to taste

-1 tbsp coconut flour

-1/4 tsp sugar-free syrup (could use honey or possibly leave out)

-1 tbsp +1 tsp almond milk

-1/8 tsp parsely

-1/4 tsp onion powder

-1/4 tsp garlic powder

-1/4 tsp paprika

-optional: green onion chopped

Directions: Preheat your waffle maker to medium heat. In a small bowl, Beat 1 egg white until soft peaks form. In another bowl combine the rest of the ingredients and then fold in the other egg white until combined (if there are little chunks of coconut oil, don’t worry about it unless they are very large haha). Pour batter into a hot waffle maker (spray with oil first) and cook for about 2-3 minutes or until done.

Ham Bacon:

I used costco low-fat bacon cooked in the microwave for about 1:40 sec (flipped half way through) between two pieces of paper towel and topped with a drizzle of sugar-free syrup.

Egg:

Cook in a sprayed pan over medium heat as you would any sunny side up egg. (about 1-1:30min each side) Generously sprinkle with salt & pepper and flip. Make sure the yolk is a bit undercooked and runny!

Put the finished egg on top of your waffle and poke the centre with a fork to let the yolk pour all over the waffle like syrup!

Eat Up! 😀

Nutrition Facts: 16g fat(good fats!), 18g protein, 10g carbsEgg bacon waffle breakfast

Have you ever tried Paleo?

Leave a Reply

