Healthy Snacks & Breakfasts

Hey! Been gone for awhile yet again..school is keeping me busy but I am still trying to post lots of the weekends so these are just some pictures to catch you up on some of what I’ve been eating during the week. I am pretty boring for meals during school because it’s hard to find time to make really creative recipes, so most of these foods are simple and clean πŸ™‚

Banana Baked Oatmeal 2 Baked Banana Oatmeal1

For breakfast one day I made baked banana oatmeal with mini enjoy life chocolate chips and walnuts..yummy! Ignore the messy pan. I so brilliantly forgot to grease it or spray it with pam so it was just a joy to clean out afterwards! But still completely worth the mess.

Strawberry Shortcake

Also during the week I made a funny looking microwave protein “strawberry shortcake” from a recipe I altered a bit. It was pretty tasty! I love my strawberry-rhubarb jam in just about anything though so that could be why it tasted so good. I could eat that stuff on cardboard and still enjoy it!

Snack Time Hummus

best protein bar 3

I also had a few really great snacks, I eat these pretty often because of convenience but they are actually so good. Sometimes simple really is best.

In the first photos/ first snack I had chipotle spicy hummus (from costco) with lots of carrots and cauliflower. I really recommend you try this hummus if you like spicy like I do! I have been through 3 hummus’ now trying to find one that was actually spicy enough for my liking and finally I think I found one! But I still threw in a few extra chili pepper flakes just cuz. πŸ˜‰ I usually eat this with a side of red velvet cake tea from David’s tea and one of “The Best Homemade Protein Bars Ever”.

Fruit Bowl

Another snack I loveeeee to eat either right when I wake up or immediately following a workout is a bowl of fresh fruit. Thankfully I have an awesome Mom who makes a giant fruit bowl of mixed fruits every week so all I have to do is grab some!

Bedtime Post-Workout Snack

Bedtime snacks for me are usually high protein/high fat, low carb. But on this particular night I ran out of my awesome 2% cottage cheese (yes I LOVE plain cottage cheese, I know I’m weird.) and natural peanut butter which I usually just eat 1-2 tbsp of straight from the container haha. So instead since I did a really late workout I had some carbs/protein which included 3/4 cup 0% plain greek yogurt with mixed berries, a dash of stevia/vanilla extract/cinnamon & some low-sugar syrup.

P.S, “like” for my winnie the pooh spoon?

Ham english muffin

Another breakfast I randomly decided to take a picture of is actually one of my favourites even though it looks extremely boring. I just hadn’t gotten around to putting the jam on yet because it was early and I wasn’t really thinking about my photography skills, I just wanted to eat, haha. But it’s basically just a whole-wheat muffin with sugar-free natural strawberry/rhubarb jam and 2 pieces of Canadian Bacon. This breakfast contains 18g of protein so it’s really great! But even better is when I make a sunny-side up egg, 1 piece of bacon and the english muffin, half for dipping in the egg and half for spreading with jam..perfection!

 

Leave a Reply

