Tropical Shrimp Dinner For One!-Recipe

Shrimp Kabobs 2 Shrimp Kabobs 5 Shrimp Kabobs 3

Oh my gosh guys, this one is a winner. I created this recipe today and I fell in love! This dish is spiced coconut shrimp kabobs over mango/avocado quinoa with a side of lime and homemade tzatziki sauce. Wow, Just like a restaurant menu item! I recently got back from vacation in Turks and Caicos where they are known for their seafood! I missed the delicious flavours I had there and so of course I had to try and re-create them at home. This recipe does just that. Grilled shrimp, coconut, avocado, mango..and more all come together to form the perfect dish to take you back to that vacation atmosphere. Hope you try it out!

Ingredients

Tzatziki Sauce:
1/4 cup greek yogurt
3 tbsp diced cucumber(small pieces)
1/2 tsp lemon juice or to taste
1/4 tsp dried dill weed
1/8 tsp pepper
1/8 tsp salt
1/4-1/2 garlic clove minced

Directions: Combine all ingredients and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.
Quinoa:
1/4 cup cooked quinoa
3 large chunks of mango chopped
1/4 of an avocado chopped
1/8 tsp chili pepper flakes
(I served this chilled but feel free to serve it hot)

Directions: Combine ingredients together in a small bowl!

Shrimp Kabobs:
-8 large shrimp peeled, deveined (either thawed frozen shrimp(which is what I used) or uncooked shrimp)
-1/2 a red pepper cut into large chunks
-1/2 a green pepper cut into large chunks
-1/2 a small onion cut into chunks
-2 cherry tomatoes

Marinade:
-1-2 tbsp coconut cream combined with 1-2 tbsp of water
-1/4 tsp dried chili peppers(or more if you like spicy!)
-1/4 tsp cumin
-1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
-1/8 tsp pepper
-1/8 tsp salt
(Mix all ingredients in a small bowl)

Directions:
Combine shrimp,peppers,onions and marinade in a large ziplock. Shake the bag around to coat everything. Then place in the fridge for 20min-1 hour. Now take out two large skewers and start by threading on an onion, red pepper, green pepper, then one shrimp. Repeat this pattern until everything is on each skewer. Top with a cherry tomato. Place the skewers on a grill and grill on each side for a few minutes until vegetables start to brown/blacken a little and cook through. If using uncooked shrimp then cook until shrimp are pink. Remove from the grill and plate over your quinoa and some of your homemade Tzatziki sauce. Serve with a side of fresh lime for the shrimp. Now Dig in to your beautiful masterpiece!

Shrimp Kabobs

P.S I thought you all may enjoy this funny picture of my cat lizzie. She has this weird way of sitting lately where she just sits up on her back legs with her paws in the air. My Dad calls her a penguin lol.
She’s a sweetie.

lizzie blog

4 thoughts on “Tropical Shrimp Dinner For One!-Recipe

  1. Thanks so much for visiting and following my blog. This dish sounds delicious! I’m going to have to try it. Turks and Caicos must have been an amazing holiday destination.

    • No problem, I really liked your post! 🙂 & Please do, I really loved it! &Yes I have been there twice since my friend has a place there and it’s been awesome both times!

Leave a Reply

