Homemade Cinnamon Swirl Protein Bars

cinn bar 6

cinn bar 3

cinn bar 7

Have you hated all the recipes you have ever made with protein powder? Have they all turned out rubbery or dry and crumbly? Want a protein bar recipe that is actually 100% delicious that you won’t be able to put down? One that’s moist, sweet and soft? Well then look no further, this recipe is here to save the day. I originally learned this recipe by following Jamie Eason’s(fitness model) version but I changed them up and made them even more delicious! I have to tell you that I am super picky about anything I make with protein powder. I have thrown out everything I have ever baking with protein powder other than 1 or two things, this being one of them. But this is the only recipe that I have continued to make again and again because I am actually sad when they are gone and I have a hard time only eating one or two! Even my brother who hates everything healthy likes these bars. So I am telling you right now…GO MAKE THESE. You will not regret it!

Makes 16 squares:

Ingredients:

-1/4 cup splenda or stevia (You may use less or more depending on your tastes, I use a little less since my protein powder is quite sweet)
-1/2 tsp Cinnamon + extra for center and top
-1 1/2 cups oat flour +
– 2 scoops (about 60g) vanilla whey protein (I highly recommend trutein vanilla or cinnamon bun protein powder, it will make all the difference!)
1 tbsp baking powder (yes 1 tbsp)
scant 1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
1 cup unsweetened almond milk (Almond Breeze)
1/3 cup or 1 4oz container of unsweetened applesauce
1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
5-6 drops stevia sweetener or to taste
1/4 cup chopped unsalted peanuts (could sub another nut but peanuts go really well!)

Directions: Preheat the oven to 350* and spray an 8×8 square pan with cooking oil. Combine all dry ingredients(including 1/2 tsp cinnamon) in a large bowl with a whisk. In a medium bowl whisk together all wet ingredients except the stevia drops. Add your wet to dry and whisk together. Now slowly add stevia drops to the batter, tasting each time until it is sweet to your liking. (A little goes a long way, be careful!). Using a spatula, stir in chopped peanuts and pour half of the batter into the pan. Spread evenly then sprinkle this layer of batter with the extra cinnamon(use quite a bit!)and about 1-2 tbsp splenda or stevia (less if you don’t want it as crazy sweet) then pour the rest of the batter over top and smooth it out again, top with cinnamon and stevia/splenda and use your spatula to swirl the batter to make it look pretty! Place in the oven and bake for 23-25min or until a tooth pick comes out clean. Cool for several minutes then cut into sixteen squares and serve warm or chilled topped with natural almond butter. You can also layer these in parchment paper and freeze in a plastic container for an easy quick breakfast! Just thaw on the counter or reheat in the microwave! Enjoy 🙂

Serving Size: 2 squares (YES YOU GET TO EAT TWO!)
Nutrition Facts per serving: 14g carbs, 4.5g fat, 9g protein

9 thoughts on “Homemade Cinnamon Swirl Protein Bars

  1. Pingback: Trutein Cinnabun & Vanilla Protein Powder Review | MouthwateringMotivation

  2. Pingback: Jumbo Chocolate Chip Cinnamon Protein Bars | MouthwateringMotivation

  3. My batter turned out crumbly and not liquid at all… Thoughts? Only difference is that I used coconut flour

    • Hey! I am sorry to hear that! It’s definitely the coconut flour in my opinion! Coconut Flour is about 3-4x more absorbant than regular flour! If using coconut flour..a good rule of thumb is to add 1/4 cup egg whites or 1 whole egg for every 1/4 cup coconut flour you use. For example, if a recipe calls for 1 cup white flour, I would typically use about 1/3 cup coconut flour instead, along with 1 1/2-2 whole eggs to replace it. But I have yet to try coconut flour with this recipe so if you use this technique, let me know how it goes! Hope this helps 🙂
      ~Sam~

      • They still tasted good! Just a little different consistency. I will try your suggestion and let you know! Thank you SO much!!!

  4. Made it happen. Made it oats & another batch with almond/coconut flour. Very tasty and curbs appetite like no other bar plus i didnt add any sweeteners (dont have a sweet tooth). The apple sauce & yogurt did add nice density and flavor highly recommend people try it.

Leave a comment